My Shadow

If I were scared of my own shadow

I would call it Peter so that

I would know that it was different from me.

 

If my shadow could talk

I would ask it not to tell me

Anything I did not want to hear.

 

If my shadow could walk away,

I would tell it to stay away

So that it couldn’t cause me to stumble.

 

If my shadow could cry,

I would turn my cheek

And say that I couldn’t help.

 

But my shadow is me,

And it appears because of

The light that shines on me.

Leave a Reply

